## Asham Under 21 Slam Lockerbie Junior Invitation

The final Asham under 21 competition for men and women took place at Lockerbie Ice Rink from 28<sup>th</sup> -30 January. After the previous rounds at Greenacres, Curl Edinburgh and Dumfries the men's teams of J.Craik and Tomkita and the women's teams of Henderson and Munro headed the overall standings.

The competition at Lockerbie was sponsored by Asham and the following local companies; Firm of Messers CM Kirkpatrick, Dryfe Veterinary Group, Henderson & Mackay and McJerrow & Stevenson.

The gents final was played between the teams skipped by James Craik and Jack Strawhorn, this final was all square after six ends with Craik scoring two shots on the seventh end which enabled them to hold on and win the game five shots to three and overall Asham under 21 slam series.

The winning team from Forfar consisted of; James Craik (Skip), Angus Bryce Scott Hyslop & Niall Ryder.

The runners up from Dumfries were Jack Strawhorn (Skip), Hamish Gallagher, Kaleb Johnstone & Struab Carson.

Third place also went to a Dumfries rink of Orrin Carson (Skip), Logan Carson, Archie Hyslop & Charlie Gibb.

Fourth place went to the Perth rink of Arran Thomson, Lewis McCabe, William Gorton & Sam McConnachie.

The ladies final was played between the teams skipped by Erin Stewart and Hannah Farries, with Stewart taking a five shots to one lead after five ends and eventually winning by six shots to three. Third place for the Munro team enable them to leapfrog Henderson and win the ladies under 21 series.

The winning team from Dumfries consisted of Erin Stewart (Skip), Tia Laurie, Kate Donald & Jessica Trotter.

The runners up from Stirling were Hannah Farries (Skip), Ince Maguire, Annabelle Hof, & Holly Hamilton.

Third place went to the Stranraer rink of rink of (Skip), Robyn Mitchell, Amy Mitchell, Beth Rowley & Kirsty Gallagher

Fourth place went to a rink from the Dumfries consisting of Layla Huntly (Skip), Megan Hutchison, Callie McMinn & Ellish Anderson.

On behalf of the management committee of Lockerbie ice rink, Marion Murdoch welcomed everyone to the presentation of trophies and prizes. She thanked the sponsors for their continued sponsorship of the competition before handing over to the Scottish Curling President Susan Kesley to oversee the presentation.

Before the prizes were presented, Susan thanked Lockerbie ice rink for providing the ice and facilities for the competition, particularly the line scorers, ice, café, bar & office staff. John Burns and his team of umpires who officiated over the weekend were also thanked.

Marion Murdoch was then asked to hand over the prizes and trophies to the ladies competitors with Susan presenting the gents. Marion was thanked by Susan, before wishing all players and spectators a safe journey home.

Photos of winning teams in both ladies and gents attached.

Ladies team names (Left to Right)

Katie Donald, Erin Stewart, Marion Murdoch, Tia Laurie & Jessica Trotter

Gents Team Names (Left to Right)

James Craik, Angus Bryce, Susan Kesley, Scott Hyslop, Niall Ryder,